Monday, November 24, 2008

International structure of cricket

The International Cricket Council (ICC), which has its headquarters in Dubai, is the international leading body of cricket. It was founded as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 by representatives from England, Australia and South Africa, renamed the International Cricket Conference in 1965, and took up its present name in 1989.

The ICC has 104 members: 10 Full Members that play official Test matches, 34 Associate Members, and 60 Affiliate Members [29]. The ICC is accountable for the organization and governance of cricket's major international tournaments, most notably the Cricket World Cup. It also appoints the umpires and referees that preside at all authorized Test matches, One Day International and Twenty20 Internationals. Each nation has a national cricket board which regulates cricket matches played in its country. The cricket board also selects the national squad and organizes home and away tours for the national team.

Halloween Costume


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home